Save the Date for the Annual Review – January 2024


We are excited to invite you to the 2024 Annual Review Meeting.
What: Wisconsin Electric Machines and Power Electronics Consortium Annual Review
When: May 15&16, 2024
Where: University of Wisconsin-Madison
Engineering Hall
1415 Engineering Drive
Madison, WI
How: Registration information and agenda will follow at a later date

In Case You Missed It!

Giri Venkataramanan, the Keith and Jane Morgan Nosbusch Engineering Education Professor and WEMPEC’s Director, has been named an IEEE Fellow for his contributions to the control of energy resources in microgrids.
Giri’s Fellow distinction became effective on January 1, 2024. With the addition of Venkataramanan, the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at UW–Madison will have 17 faculty members who are IEEE Fellows, including WEMPEC Emeritus Professor Tom Jahns.
Congratulations Giri!
Lei Zhou, Assistant Professor, and Associate Director in WEMPEC, received the America Society of Precision Engineers (ASPE) Early Career Award, recognizing her development of electromagnetic actuators and control techniques applied to high-precision positioning systems, as well as two new NSF grants supporting her work on robotics and monolayer materials manufacturing.
Congratulations Lei!!
Dan Ludois, the Jean van Bladel Associate Professor, WEMPEC Research & Innovation Director, and co-Founder of C-Motive, featured on the front section of Wisconsin State Journal for their work on creating the world’s first commercially viable electrostatic motor.

Congratulations Dan!

Additional news on recent student and alumni recognitions as well as WEMPEC projects that have made waves are waiting for you in the News section of our website!

Happy New Year from the WEMPEC Team!

Pia Strampp – Jinia Roy – Tom Jahns – Giri Venkataramanan – Dan Ludois – Mira Kwiecien – Lei Zhou – Bulent Sarlioglu – Kelly Camp